h1

Laptop

May 18, 2008

Dear Lazy web,

I’m looking for a laptop in the 700 – 850 (UDS) dollar range for mostly daily use. It would be used for taking notes in class, doing data analysis in the lab, light coding and web surfing. It would not be used for intense gaming or anything but I need something that is Linux compatible out of the box and preferably, Microsoft-tax free. Also, I would like it to be delived within two weeks of ordering.

I am leaning heavily toward this System 76 machine but would like a range of options. Thanks.

18 comments

  1. The Eee PC ftw. There’s plenty of support for it, and you can run eeeXubuntu if you like. And it’s dirt cheap.

    I’m happy with mine. πŸ˜€


  2. […] analysis in the lab, light coding and web surfing. It would not be used for intense gaming or anyhttps://admiralchicago.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/laptop/40-year blues: Hubby failed to plan a party The Standard-Times Dear Annie: I will be 40 this year […]


  3. MSI Wind is a better computer at a better price, but it’s not out yet.


  4. i like old thinkpad x-series off ebay πŸ™‚


  5. I wish I had gotten this Lenovo from Newegg for $800 , 3 gig ram 250 gig hdd, all intel stuff with mostly open drivers


  6. I’d say get the best used ThinkPad you can afford on eBay. I got a T40 for $300 a while back, and it’s awesome.


  7. […] Technological Freedom wrote an interesting post today on LaptopHere’s a quick excerptIt would not be used for intense gaming or anything but I need something that is Linux compatible out of the box and preferably, Microsoft-tax free…. […]


  8. […] Tim Worstall — It is all obvious or trivial except… wrote an interesting post today on LaptopHere’s a quick excerpt Dear Lazy web, I’m looking for a laptop in the 700 – 850 (UDS) dollar range for mostly daily use. It would be used for taking notes in class, doing data analysis in the lab, light coding and web surfing. It would not be used for intense gaming or anything but I need something that is Linux compatible out of the box and preferably, Microsoft-tax free. Also, I would like it to be delived within two weeks of ordering. I am leaning heavily toward this System 76 machine but would like a range of […]


  9. I’d also recommend you a used Thinkpad. They are new enough to get some work done, built to last forever and reasonably priced. I’ve got a T41 and I’m totally happy with it.


  10. If you are planning to order online, Lenovo has very good deal now (25% off) on thinkpad series. I guess its a better deal than getting used one.

    http://shop.lenovo.com/us/landing_pages/sales/ecoupon?kbid=357062&sub=2

    Don’t forget to use the ecoupon mentioned on the page.


  11. I recently bought thinkpad T61 out of the deal mentioned in my previous command. With intel driver, ubuntu runs without any issues.


  12. You are from Chicago aren’t you? System76 has good laptops at a good price with Ubuntu preinstalled.
    http://system76.com/index.php?cPath=28


  13. I suggest getting a Dell Inspiron, pre-installed with Ubuntu. They do that for you… price is about $800.


  14. I purchased a Dell ubuntu laptop (Inspiron 1420N) and am happy with it. You can get it from http://www.dell.com/ubuntu.


  15. I like the Lenovo ThinkPad R61, myself. I recently bought one and I absolutely love it.. Just a matter of personal preference, though. I bought mine with Vista, because I couldn’t get an R series with the 1680×1050 widescreen and Linux, but I installed Ubuntu and all is well..


  16. I just bought a Lenovo R61 for a friend. It comes with linux, has great specs, and goes for $600 after tax and shipping.

    Use the CPP code 556655 on http://www.lenovo.com/cpp and choose the R61.


  17. How about an Ubuntu-preinstalled ZaReason?
    http://www.zareason.com/shop/product.php?productid=16152&cat=0&page=1

    Thing I love is their open hardware warranty. They encourage you to open it up and have a look around, unlike most OEMs.


  18. Oh, by the way, ZaReason has a 5% discount for students, so make sure you ask for that if you decide to get one.



Leave a Reply

