h1

A few notes

April 25, 2008

Kubuntu 8.04 is released. \o/! Seems like getting the remix of Kubuntu with KDE4 is a hard sell right now. I can’t seem to get a link and bitTorrent is not allowed at my school (its too much to allow students to legally do things apparently)

Xubuntu 8.04 is out. See the Release Notes for more details. It seems there isn’t a mention to the very, very sexy documentation that is included in the release. Jim Campbell had a lot to do with writing the great documentation.

Lastly, make sure to hit up the Chicago LoCo Hardy Release Party. It should be a good time. This Saturday April 26th from 2pm to 5pm. Just make sure to stay away from the characters like Kevin Harriss, I know he’ll be trying to push Foresight Linux down people’s throats. 😛 I wish I could attend the release party but I will be in Iowa at that time. Also, make sure to RSVP if you are attending.

3 comments

  1. I have the same problem w/ bittorrent at my school. As for a link, did you try http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/kubuntu-kde4/releases/8.04/release/ ?

    They are there at least.

    Daniel


  2. I was going to ask if you tried the .metalink file? These usually contain all the mirrors & checksum info, but the Kubuntu-KDE ones don’t list the mirrors like the .metalinks for Ubuntu.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Metalink


  3. You are absolutely right – I’ve just updated the release notes to include the documentation. Though then again, these were prepared by Jim himself, so I suppose he’s just too humble 🙂

    Just too bad I couldn’t find it online, except for the draft.



Leave a Reply

