h1

*Head Desk*

October 2, 2007

So I’ve been running into this bug in Kubuntu Gutsy where X will lock up and stop recognizing my input. The mouse works but clicking will stop responding. Its to a point where I just can’t use my computer to work and maybe the web can help me out:

my Xorg.conf
I also ran tail -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log > Xdebug.txt and got this as the last signal:
AUDIT: Mon Oct 1 22:23:42 2007: 5552 X: client 23 rejected from local host (uid 1000)

In other news, I am busy as ever with school. I am part of a team working on a protein folding project and we are getting very close to begin folding. The latest success was one of our members getting Python to dump 50,000 lines of output in 3 seconds. Yay!

7 comments

  1. In Gutsy Xubuntu, my mouse will occasionally dissapear completely when certain ACPI events are triggered, like a lid close. This doesn’t always happen, so I’m interested if you figure this out, and maybe it’s related.


  2. Does the the keyboard also stop working? To the point of ctrl-alt-backspace not working? That’s what my X does lately, usually triggered by Mozilla. And I know some other people on the Debian-User mailing list were having similar, but not identical, problems. Unfortunately, that’s all I know about the situation.


  3. @ Kelly Clowers: No, the keyboard stops being recognized as well. It is also usually triggered by Firefox but I know that Fx isn’t causing the problem because I’ve had this happen when I had Fx closed. Please let me know if the Debian user’s list people find a fix.
    @ toothrot : This is a desktop and I did have some problems with the acpid package (dependency problems) but I don’t think its related.


  4. I’ve experienced something similar a few days ago: keyboard stopped working completely and the mouse behaved as if the win-/super-key was pressed.
    See https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/140555


  5. […] I previously wrote about some issues I was having with my install of Gutsy and X. Today, I decided to just give up on the whole idea and […]


  6. Hmm, I’ve had similar, though the alt-sys-req system and caps-lock are still fine. I can still SSH in and I don’t see anything obvious in terms of problems. Mind you, I was also having this problem under Feisty too (running KDE 3.5.7 from backports).


  7. Chris, the problem is probably associated with backports, I make it a point to not use them.



Leave a Reply

