h1

Link + Story of the Day

July 26, 2007

The reason I was so happy to see Dell offering systems preloaded with Ubuntu was their commitment to improving the state of drivers. Well apparently Dell, like the most of us, want improved ATI drivers. I want them open-sourced but I won’t hold my breath.

One day I volunteered to help a project because I really liked the project and improve it. I got a nice email from the project leader who asked for my information, they sent me a free shirt for helping the project out. I won’t say which one because my point is that you never know who is looking out for its contributors. It was a nice surprise to be given something in return for work, I honestly didn’t expect anything in return. Well I got my teeshirt today and now I have two of them from the same project.

I recently changed the look of my web page. It looks nice imho and I have to say the WordPress community has been really helpful to me when I’ve asked questions in their IRC channel (#wordpress on irc.freenoden.net). Their help makes me want to stay on WP for a long time.

6 comments

  1. is that the old sun times building on the river? the lights distort the company name, but damn does that look familiar πŸ™‚ I had to work there when I was in elementary school because I thought it would be funny to steal everyone’s Sunday paper πŸ™‚ Site looks good! Also if you ever need WP help, don’t hesitate to ask me.

    Also, I want a damn t-shirt. Of all of the projects I have been involved in, the 3 that I haven’t been involved in has given me a t-shirt or a hat. And you know who those 3 are (Fedora, Hack the duck, and rPath).


  2. It is the old sun times building. I grabbed it from the chicago wikipedia page. It was in the public domain so I went with it. There is a problem with the links widget, it should say Blogroll or something similar, I’ll investigate it later.

    The Debian people send their contributors stuff don’t they? Maybe not tshirts but something. I have a bunch of shirts that I collected at BarCamp, which was cool.


  3. AllPeers sent me a T-shirt the other day just because I filled in an enquiry. And heck, the shirt looks quite good πŸ˜€


  4. @Vince, that is awesome. AP is a great application and ~10% people who use AP download Firefox just for using it. I was thinking about this, and this is going to be the basis for my next blog. πŸ™‚


  5. @Freddy – yeah, AllPeers is cool, but I’ve disabled it at my installation of Firefox because I can’t get nobody I often share files with to install it too, because they seem to prefer email attachments. However, I’ll re-enable it when the new version arrives that can download regular BitTorrent files πŸ˜€


  6. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any suggestions?



Leave a Reply

