h1

Windows, how we bash you.

July 1, 2007

Since I’ve been using computers, it seems like I’ve always heard people bashing Windows.  Microsoft is evil! Vista sucks! To be honest, when I used Windows XP (B.U.) it worked okay for what I was doing. But so things became that I lost data and could no longer afford XP so I switched. I haven’t missed Windows since then. So I won’t bash Microsoft or Windows, there are better ways to spread free software love than FUD campaigns.

I was speaking to a friend and I said this:  “I don’t hate Windows, I just want people to know they have a choice.”  So I let people know that they can chose a better, free OS but if you want to spend your money on Vista, please do.  I often find it hard to reconcile  my capitalist “do-what-you-want-with-your-money” ideals with my free software ideal “omg-you-don’t-know-what-you-are-doing-with-your-money.” Ultimately, I believe in choice.  I’ve heard good arguments for people using Windows (QuickBooks, Photoshop) and bad ones (It came free with my computer).  I’ve heard much better arguments for free software though :-).  You know, if people run Gentoo, Slackware, Fedora, gNewSense or Ubuntu, its all good.  I’m here for the community which turns out a great product (in that order).

12 comments

  1. It’s not so much Microsoft who’s evil (hey – they’re a company, of course they want to make profit) even though their products suck IMO. It’s people that are willing to pirate software just because it’s what they’re used to. And it’s even worse when people aren’t open-minded, when they don’t even want to know they have a choice. Those who don’t realize they pay a lot for an operating system they didn’t even choose consciously.

    But then I always think – well, it’s their problem to be immoral or ignorant, I already get to enjoy the wonderful world of free software 😉


  2. The only thing we need to make sure of is that people can exchange data no matter what operating system or software they are using. That’s why open standards are so very important.

    Aside from that, we should try (if at all possible, given the nature of the software) and make our software as cross-platform as possible so that the users can benefit
    from using our software without being forced to use a specific operating system.

    If people want to use Windows, that’s fine by me
    as long as they pay for it.

    We use Windows, Linux and MacOS side by side
    and they all have their advantages and their “f***, sh***, da**” moments.


  3. I agree. I would thanks Microsoft for helping me to know the world of PCs in 1992. But when I knew Linux I was more and more happy.
    So, now, I do not bash Windows.


  4. I agree with the posters above… I think that writing “windoze” or “winbloze” or “M$” just makes the person out to be immature. If you get too much of an us-vs-them mentality, then you lose the ability to reason well.

    I don’t support Microsoft, and I try to not use their products, but I’m not going to sit here and bash them. Bashing things doesn’t help people to understand your side, it just alienates people.


  5. If you want to reconcile your capitalist ideals with your Free Software ideals, reading about network effects would be a good start. They prevent the operating system market from behaving like an ordinary market, so that even if Ubuntu was slightly better than Windows overall, we’d still never fix bug 1.

    I can think of two ways around this. One is to develop things like Wine, Samba, and Mono that put Ubuntu on an equal footing in the various Windows economic networks. (This is dangerous, because it may make Windows-based suppliers more confident about sticking with the Windows APIs/protocols, even though Ubuntu users will always have a slower and/or less reliable experience as a result.)

    The other is to make Ubuntu much better than Windows for particular market segments, so that those segments switch to Ubuntu en masse and start having network effects of their own.


  6. I started writing a comment, but it became about 3 times as long as your post so I just put it in my own blog, but I’ll link it here. (Re: Capitalism and Linux):

    http://ill-logic-tech.blogspot.com/2007/07/capitalism-and-linux.html


  7. I think this is the best attitude to take in the current world :). And i dont agree that all microsoft products suck – some are exceptional. And those saying Vista sucks should listen to both sides of the story – being a OSS person, you only get to hear thing your side! ( I`m a linux fan too, btw )


  8. Windows is great for what it is. I just spent the day installing it right on my sister new laptop. She’ll use Office, iTunes, Pidgin & Firefox in an easy environment that she used to. Thats what Windows is great for people who just want iTunes and Microsoft Office to work. Linux is for those of use who don’t mind using a little elbow grease to get things to work. Hopefully she also love using the open source applications that I put on there; Firefox, 7zip, Pidgin & Gimpshop and try amaroK & Open Office.


  9. Thanks for the post. I also dislike the talk about MS as if they are the incorporation of all things evil. I also agree with the above poster about people you use terminology such as “winblows” just making themselves look immature.
    I run Ubuntu exclusively on all PCs in my house with no dual-booters, but I still understand that to the average person, what OS they run doesn’t even consume a small fraction of their day-to-day thinking.


  10. Well…
    I really appreciate this new attitude among Linux users; politeness, political correctness, kindness… it’s all great.
    It’s true that Windows is not that bad, it’s even worst not because it’s a bad OS (which is rather true) but because of MS corporate policy.
    Unfortunately I cannot forget how the very polited, well educated and kind-minded Microsoft managers had spoken about Linux (and competitors) in recent years. I hope you guys remember too.

    J. G.


  11. I’m very new to the Linux world (less than an month in fact). I’ve used Windows since the mid 90s. I bought a new laptop with Vista installed. It’s ok. It’s not all that people are making it out to be. That computer dual boots Ubuntu and Vista.

    I do spend the bulk of my time in Windows. But right now, I’m at the point where I can get things done more efficiently in Windows. Right now I’m in Ubuntu because there’s nothing of importance I need to do. I’m just reading boards and trying to get various things to work which generally involves a lot of Googling and then Googling the terms I don’t understand.

    Even though I have an intense fear of the terminal, I’m finding it somewhat easier to deal with than some of the menu stuff. But I also have someone more experienced than me (ok… so just about anyone is more experienced than me) walking me through things.

    Ummm… I did have a point. Oh yes. I never understood the intense hate some feel for anything Microsoft. I’m thankful I can make the choice of what OS to use now. I don’t feel like I’m locked into using one OS. I’ll use what gets the job done.


  12. […] regelmatig klachten van mensen die onze filmpjes niet kunnen zien. Dit zijn meestal mensen met Windows en een vrij oude webbrowser. Daarom heb ik een alternatief in elkaar gedraaid. Als je op een link […]



Leave a Reply

