h1

Bug Series Part 2

March 26, 2007

I wish to clarify my previous post and say that I think we are just taking so many new users so rapidly that the pace of developers may not be enough. I know Canonical has been working hard with their devs to push a great product and has taken the initiative of hiring more developers. That being said, the aim of these posts is help the average Ubuntu Planet reader so the logic which goes behind bug work and hopefully inspire a few people to give it a shot.

In this post, I had to go back and edit it because it came to my attention that my methods where incorrect on a few bugs. Therefore, I reanalyzed this and see that sometimes the best resources a bug triager has is other triagers.

I came across this bug report in Feisty. I made a few mistakes in triaging as I thought it was an older bugs in Feisty, and thought it was a Herd 1 bug and didn’t see a Beta 1 in there. I was corrected by Colin Watson who has sharper eyes than me and I made an appropriate response.

There are some bugs that are not even bugs but features. This bug looks like a feature instead of a bug, and therefore may need careful attention by someone more well rounded in how KDE should behave. I contact nixternal and he tells me it is a feature. I reject it for that reason.

One more before this post gets too long. I looked upon this German Language one that I was unsure of how to process. If Kubuntu was installed with German chosen as the language at install time then I would say german-language-support should be installed at that time as well and then it would be a bug. If german-language-pack is installed, perhaps it should depend on german-language-support. However, if German is never explicitly stated at any point of install, or ever installed, then should german-language-support be installed by default? More importantly, I am unsure if this package exists in the repositories after I search for it in packages.ubuntu.com. This is one of those bugs that really depends on bug reporter’s response which I have to await patiently. Edit: After I posted this, Colin Watson comes to inform me with a comment on my post “The third bug you mention is (arguably) an installer bug and should be triaged as such. It sounds like you aren’t familiar with how the installer handles language packs and language support packages. It shouldn’t be rejected out of hand.” Yes, I agree that I’m not sure how this bug should be handled, I didn’t wish to reject it but I wanted to gather more information from the reporter so I could orientate myself better to his / her wishes.

One comment

  1. The first bug you mention wasn’t an early bug in Feisty, it was one filed a whole 21 hours ago against our most recent release.

    The third bug you mention is (arguably) an installer bug and should be triaged as such. It sounds like you aren’t familiar with how the installer handles language packs and language support packages. It shouldn’t be rejected out of hand.



Leave a Reply

