h1

bitlbee and irssi.

March 22, 2007

I will be reposting an older blog due to a conversation I had yesterday. I was relaxing and my phone rings. It was a buddy that had been to a talk on Open Source and Ubuntu that my buddy and I gave a while ago. He had called because he had seen a video of desktop effects and wanted to get Ubuntu thought he didn’t want DEs. I got excited because only again for the reason I posted in before. While in his room, I also came across more Ubuntu users that I never meet on campus. \o/.

Now to the reason I posted. Seems that at our school, there is quite a problem connecting to the an IM server so I am posting my workaround. It works for networks that allow you access to IRC, and it is through a package called bitlbee and irssi. More information after the jump.

First, we have to install bitlbee and irssi.
sudo aptitude install bitlbee irssi
Some information from the package:
* Irssi is a terminal based IRC client for UNIX systems.
* Bitlbee can be used as an IRC server which forwards everything you say to people on other chat networks
Bitlbee will be installed locally and does not require you to run it locally. Please don’t spend time trying to lauch bitlbee like I did 🙂
Secondly, we edit the file in ~/.irssi/config. I have the following information (everything before Alias, comments after asterisks )

servers = (
{
address = “localhost”;
chatnet = “Bitlbee”;
port = “6667”;
use_ssl = “no”;
ssl_verify = “no”;
autoconnect = “yes”;
},
{
address = “irc.freenode.net”;
chatnet = “Freenode”;
port = “6667”;
autoconnect = “yes”;
}
);

chatnets = {
Freenode = {
type = “IRC”;
autosendcmd = “/^quote nickserv identify yourpassword“;
};
Bitlbee = {
type = “IRC”;
autosendcmd = “identify yourpassword“;
* The above line does not work, if anyone has a workaround to identify in the new window irssi creats, let me know.
}
};
channels = (
{ name = “#ubuntu-chicago”; chatnet = “freenode”; autojoin = “yes”; },
* Add whatever channels you want
);

Next, launch irssi in a terminal. If you have never used irssi before, all you need to know for now is Alt + 1,2,3 (etc) changes windows. Ctrl + P as well. Before we start adding server, we must register ourselves: register password. Once we come back to bitlbee, we just type identify password.

Follow this syntax account add oscar (handle / screename) (password) (servername) For ICQ connections, the servername is login.icq.com, for AIM connections it’s login.oscar.aol.com. The command help account add will grab you information about Jabber, Yahoo messenger etc. help account add Jabber was my friend for a long time. Note you can do account on to sign off, and account off to off all accounts. To turn on individual accounts, do account on # after you get the number from account list.

This seems to be all you need to get going. Now I have to go buzzy myself with work. As always, please comment on my guides so I can improve it.

12 comments

  1. You can also try to connect to login.oscar.aol.com:80 (ie. use port 80 as “auth port” in gaim’s configuration). This works if you are behind a firewall that will not allow outgoing connections to the default port of the protocol (5190).


  2. You might want to check out a similar guide that I have:

    http://www.travishartwell.net/blog/2006/04/20_1810

    Hope you find it useful!


  3. Chris wrote:
    You can also try to connect to login.oscar.aol.com:8g0 (ie. use port 80 as “auth port” in gaim’s configuration). This works if you are behind a firewall that will not allow outgoing connections to the default port of the protocol (5190).

    Yes, that does work.


  4. “* The above line does not work, if anyone has a workaround to identify in the new window irssi creats, let me know.”

    my .irssi/config has:
    im = {
    type = “IRC”;
    autosendcmd = “wait 2000; /msg &bitlbee identify password”;
    };

    this works for me.


  5. @flurble: Thanks for the tip. That worked for me.


  6. […] with 95% of my contacts, I have to use some version of AIM. I had written before about using irssi and bitlbee to connect online. However I have found two other methods that I very much […]


  7. WHere can you add your channel/Q auth details in the config file? I can’t figure this one out :o)
    Cheers,
    mute


  8. @mute. Sorry for the delay. What channel auth? can you be more specific?


  9. Sorted it now thank you mate :o)


  10. Hi! To automatically identify in a bitlbee channel when you enter it you can add a channel entry like this:
    channels = (
    {your channels}
    {
    name = “&bitlbee”;
    chatnet = “bitlbee”;
    password = “”;
    autosendcmd = “/msg &bitlbee identify w%a)Q4”;
    }
    );


  11. Thanks, Pete. That was just the information i had been looking for all day.

    This reduces starting my IM of choice with a single command! Combined with the flexibility of irssi this makes a very convenient way of instant messaging!


  12. Pete, that for some reason works better if you set the server to “im.bitlbee.org” instread of “localhost”



Leave a Reply

