h1

Hello world, part 2!

March 18, 2007

In the great migration of the Ubuntu Chicago LoCo page, I ended up losing my blog, so I had to create a new one on WordPress, update the planet to point to this one, and here I am (hopefully). The old interface will be missed to say the least.

As I walked upstairs yesterday I heard a call from one of my Brothers. I turn and he looks at me and says “Freddy, do you have an Ubuntu disk I can have? I’m going to put Linux on my desktop.” I give him a Kubuntu 6.10 CD and I don’t hear from him since. I fixed his problem with Flash, and also helped him set up Gaim (the network here is different to be polite). He was off and running and didn’t have any problems it seems. In the past year, I have put Linux on many machines but it was refreshing having people come and ask me for Ubuntu. I know when I first came to my school of no machines running Linux, now I know of at least twelve computers running Kubuntu (dual boots not included). Great success so far, and I am hoping that more people come around. Now people are asking for it, trading stories of printers working out of the box, etc. In the past year, we have began building a user base which always makes it exciting to be around. Feisty should help greatly.

One comment

  1. […] thought he didn’t want DEs. I got excited because only again for the reason I posted in before. While in his room, I also came across more Ubuntu users that I never meet on campus. […]



Leave a Reply

