h1

Getting rid of desktop application.

March 13, 2008

One of my biggest issues on my campus is getting online with the OSCAR protocol (I know, I know). I also have an XMPP account and IRC, however unfortunately if I want to stay in contact with 95% of my contacts, I have to use some version of AIM. I had written before about using irssi and bitlbee to connect online. However I have found two other methods that I very much like.

Meebo does what a lot of other online webpages have attempted. ebuddy, AIM express and others have nothing on meebo. Check out the webpage, I use meebo about 30% of the time and it has multiple XMPP accounts as well as a two AIM accounts. It works well. Older computers may struggle with it, its not the fastest. However the developers are constantly working on it and it is by no means slow.

Gmail Chat. Go to your email, look at chat, hit options and sign onto AIM. I always have my email open and this makes it simple (if not a bit crowded in my window)

However, I do wish more people used free and open protocols of course :P

Link of the Day: WordPress gave me a hawt blog (their words not mine) for a post about Firefox 3′s Memory Usage…with pictures.

4 comments

  1. If you have an XMPP account, couldn’t you just set up an AIM transport on it and use that? I’ve started looking into this myself, but am having trouble finding a client that has the capability so far.


  2. Tony,

    I’m not sure what you mean by an AIM transport? The only other thing I know about the protocol is that there have been efforts to allow people to connect via XMPP, but I have yet to get kopete or gaim to connect in this manner.


  3. Freddy,

    I’m surprised you know nothing about Jabber transports [1]. Or the fact that AOL has f***ed up and “opened” the OSCAR protocol [2] instead of going XMPP. Well, sort of… [3]

    TIP: Watch the news on Planet Ubuntu. :-P

    [1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jabber#Connecting_to_other_protocols
    [2] http://dev.aol.com/aim
    [3] http://www.screenage.de/blog/2008/03/12/one-step-forward-two-steps-back-aols-new-openness/


  4. @Marcin,
    I read about AOL opening up their protocol, however it is not a free and open in the classical GPL sense of open, which was the distinction I was trying to make.

    Do you know were I could get information about connecting to other protocols via XMPP, I saw the wikipedia article but there weren’t any specifics. I’ll check The Google.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

